Tours

WELCOME TO HERITAGE TORONTO’S 2014 TOURS!

UntitledAs we celebrate the 20th anniversary of our walking tours, we’re excited to be in our second year now of offering bike tours, bus tours and boutique walking tours!

All tours are researched, designed and led by local historians, community groups and professionals who volunteer their time. Heritage Toronto Tours run from the end of April until late October, so there’s plenty of time to catch as many of our fun and informative tours as you like.

Bring a water bottle, wear comfortable shoes and dress for the weather – tours go rain or shine!
If a tour must be cancelled, it will be noted as soon as possible on this page. Someone will also show up at the tour’s starting point to let you know.

BOUTIQUE WALKS LOYALTY CARD: MORE TOURS, MORE SAVINGS!
Simply print this card, have each leader initial your card on each boutique walking tour you attend, and then take advantage of one of the offers:

Cut out of boutique loyalty card for web

BROWSE UPCOMING TOURS BY CLICKING BELOW:

TOURS BY TYPE

BUS


bus

Explore Toronto’s heritage – from the comfort of a bus! Get on board for a ride with our expert tour guides. You’ll hear stories you will want to tell everyone about!

LIMITED SPACES. PRE-REGISTRATION REQUIRED.
Details about Start and Finish locations will be provided upon registration.

Sat. June 14 – 10:00 AM Before Toronto: An Archaeological Bus Tour of Our City’s First 13,000 Years  NEW Bus Tour
Sun. Oct. 5 – 1:00 PM Surprising Suburbia: A Bus Tour of Northern Etobicoke Bus Tour

BOUTIQUE

BOUTIQUE

In addition to our regular walking tours, Heritage Toronto offers boutique walking tours. These are ideal for those who prefer to join a small group of no more than 20 people for a more intimate tour experience. Learn about the city’s music history, explore the city’s diverse cultural heritage or join in welcoming the World Pride Festival to Toronto on one of our boutique tours.

LIMITED SPACES. PRE-REGISTRATION REQUIRED.
Details about start and finish locations will be provided upon registration.

Thur. 05-Jun – 6:30 PM Music History on the Yonge Street Strip - CANCELLED Boutique Walk
Sat. 14-Jun – 10:00 AM Before Toronto: An Archaeological Bus Tour of Our City’s First 13,000 Years  NEW Boutique Bus
Wed. 18-Jun – 6:30 PM The Yorkville Music Scene of the 1960s Boutique Walk
Fri. 20-Jun -6:30 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk
Sat. 21-Jun -1:30 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk
Sun. 22-Jun -1:30 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk
Mon. 23-Jun -6:30 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk
Tue. 24-Jun -6:30 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk
Wed. 25-Jun -6:30 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk
Thurs. 26-Jun -6:30 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk
Fri. 27-Jun – 2:00 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk
Sat. 28-Jun – 10:30 AM The Don Valley: Todmorden Mills to Lake Ontario BIKE tour    NEW Boutique Bike
Thu. 03-Jul – 6:30 PM Chinatown: Then & Now   NEW Boutique Walk
Thu. 10-Jul – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Wed. 16-Jul – 6:30 PM Music History on the Yonge Street Strip Boutique Walk
Thur. 17-Jul – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Thur. 24-Jul – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Sat. 26-Jul – 10:30 AM Designing Toronto: A Playful Tour of Toronto’s Fashion District Boutique Children Walk
Wed. 30-Jul – 6:30 PM The Yorkville Music Scene of the 1960s Boutique Walk
Thur. 31- Jul – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Sun. 03-Aug – 2:30 PM Chinatown: Then & Now    NEW Boutique Walk
Thur. 07-Aug – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Sat. 09-Aug – 11:00 AM Music History on the Yonge Street Strip Boutique Walk
Thur. 14-Aug – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Thurs. 21-Aug – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Sat. 23-Aug – 2:30 PM Designing Toronto: A Playful Tour of Toronto’s Fashion District Boutique Children Walk
Sun. 24-Aug – 10:00 AM The Yorkville Music Scene of the 1960s Boutique Walk
Thur. 28-Aug – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Sun. 21-Sep – 1:30 PM The Don Valley: Todmorden Mills to Lake Ontario   NEW Boutique Bike
Sun. 28-Sep – 2:00 PM More Than an Island BIKE tour Boutique Bike
Sun. 05-Oct – 1:00 PM Surprising Suburbia: A Bus Tour of Northern Etobicoke Boutique Bus

PRIVATE TOURS
Heritage Toronto offers a selection of private tours, with pricing ranging from $20 to $25 per person depending on the group size. Call 416-338-0682 for more info.

 

BIKE


bike

Hop on your bike and join our knowledgeable guides on a leisurely ride through Toronto history. Heritage Toronto is happy to be partnering with the Community Bicycle Network to deliver these tours!

LIMITED SPACES. PRE-REGISTRATION REQUIRED. DETAILS ABOUT START AND FINISH LOCATIONS WILL BE PROVIDED UPON REGISTRATION.

 

Sun June 8 – 2:00 PM More Than an Island Bike
Sat June 28 – 10:30 AM The Don Valley: Todmorden Mills to Lake Ontario BIKE tour    NEW Bike & Boutique
Sun. Sept. 21 – 1:30 PM The Don Valley: Todmorden Mills to Lake Ontario BIKE tour    NEW Bike & Boutique
Sun. Sept 28 – 2:00 PM More Than an Island Boutique Bike

CHILDREN


family

TOURS FOR CHILDREN 7 TO 12 YEARS OLD AND THEIR FAMILIES
Searching for a family outing that is enjoyable and engaging? Heritage Toronto is pleased to offer these tours designed especially for children and their families. Shhh – the kids won’t know they’re learning about Toronto’s heritage as they’ll be having too much fun!

Sat. July 26 – 10:30 AM Designing Toronto: A Playful Tour of Toronto’s Fashion District                      

Children Boutique

Sun. Aug 17 – 10:30 AM Remaking Toronto:  Animals and Office Towers in the Downtown Core

Children’s Walk

Sat. Aug23 – 2:30 PM Designing Toronto: A Playful Tour of Toronto’s Fashion District                      

Children Boutique

WALK

walk
DONATIONS ENCOURAGED
Heritage Toronto is able to offer our pay-what-you-can walking tours to you through the considerable time and effort of staff, generous volunteers, and our program sponsor, TD Bank. Please consider paying what you can on those tours to help us cover costs.

DATE & TIME TOUR TYPE
Thurs. July 3 – 6:30 PM Chinatown: Then & Now   NEW Boutique Walk
Sat.  July 5 – 1:30 PM The Town of York & the War of 1812 Walk
Sun. July 6 – 11:00 AM Extra! Extra! Making the News in Toronto  NEW Walk
Wed. July 9 – 6:30 PM A Sense of Spadina: Historic Jewish Toronto, w Cecil St. Plaque Walk
Thurs. July 10 – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Sat July 12 – 11:00 AM Immigration Stories: Making a Home in Old Toronto   NEW Walk, Suitable for people with English as a second language
Sat.  July 12 – 1:30 PM The Necropolis Walk
Sun. July 13 – 10:30 AM Getting Around Downtown in the Automobile Age Walk
Sun. July 13 -1:30 PM Beaconsfield Village Walk
Wed. July 16 -6:30 PM Music History on the Yonge Street Strip Boutique Walk
Thurs. July 17 – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Sat. July 19 – 10:30 AM Textile City: Living Fashion and Garment Production in Toronto Walk
Sat July 19 -1:30 PM Guild Park: Where Art Meets Nature Walk
Sun. July 20 -10:00 AM Watershed Wonders: The Forks of the Don  NEW Walk
Thurs. July 24 -6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Thurs. July 24 -7:00 PM Immigration Stories: Making a Home in Old Toronto   NEW Walk, suitable for learners of English as a second language
Fri. July 25 -7:00 PM Exhibition Place & The Battle of York, 1813 Walk – available in French and English
Sat. July 26 -10:30 AM Designing Toronto: A Playful Tour of Toronto’s Fashion District Boutique Children’s Walk
Sat. July 26 -1:30 PM South East Rosedale: Castle Frank to Glen Road Walk
Sun. July 27 -1:30 PM Thistletown Walk
Wed. July 30 – 6:30 PM The Yorkville Music Scene of the 1960s Boutique Walk
Thur. July 31 – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
DATE & TIME TOUR TYPE
Sun. Aug.3 – 2:30 PM Chinatown: Then & Now    NEW

Boutique Walk

Thurs. Aug. 7 – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten StopsToronto

Boutique Walk

Sat. Aug. 9 -10:00 AM Music History on the Yonge Street Strip

Boutique Walk

Sat. Aug. 9 -1:30 PM Mount Pleasant Cemetery: Where Soldiers Rest in Peace  NEW

Walk

Sun. Aug. 10 -11:00 AM Immigration Stories: Making a Home in Old Toronto   NEW

Walk, suitable for learners of English as a second language

Sun. Aug. 10 -1:30 PM The Trees of Queen’s Park

Walk

Thurs. Aug. 14 -6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Toronto

Boutique Walk

Sat. Aug. 16 -1:30 PM Aggie’s Wildflowers

Walk

Sun. Aug 17 -10:30 AM Remaking Toronto:  Animals and Office Towers in the Downtown Core

Children’s Walk

Sun. Aug 17 -1:30 PM Town to Park: Avenue Road to Rosehill Reservoir

Walk

Thurs. Aug. 21 -6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten StopsToronto

Boutique Walk

Sat Aug 23 -10:00 AM The Boys of Harbord Collegiate & the Great War  NEW

Walk

Sat. Aug 23 -2:30 PM Designing Toronto: A Playful Tour of Toronto’s Fashion District                      

Children’s Boutique Walk

Sun. Aug. 24 -10:00 AM The Yorkville Music Scene of the 1960s

Boutique Walk

Sun Aug 24 -11:00 AM The Royal Alexandra Theatre & Its Neighbourhood 

Walk

Thurs. Aug. 28 -6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten StopsToronto

Boutique Walk

For more upcoming tours click here to view the full tours brochure or check out the events calendar.

 

IMMIGRATIONS STORIES

Limited spaces. Pre-registration required for all Immigrations Stories tours. Click on the tour dates below to secure your spot. 

Learn about how generations of newcomers to Toronto have made this city home with a free walking tour designed to be suitable for learners of English as a second language.

IMMIGRATION STORIES: MAKING A HOME IN OLD TORONTO

SATURDAY, JULY 12 – 11:00 AM
THURSDAY, JULY 24 – 7:00 PM
SUNDAY, AUGUST 10 – 11:00 AM
SUNDAY, SEPTEMBER 14 – 11:00 AM
THURSDAY, OCTOBER 23 – 5:30 PM
SATURDAY, OCTOBER 25 – 2:00 PM
SUNDAY, OCTOBER 26 – 2:00 PM

 Sponsor
cic-logo-1

TOURS BY MONTH

APRIL

DATE & TIME TOUR TYPE
Sat. Apr 26 – 1:30 PM Corktown-  NEW Walk
Sun. Apr 27 – 10:30 AM Workers’ History of Spadina Walk
Sun. Apr 27 – 1:30 PM Cabbagetown -  North Walk

MAY

DATE & TIME TOUR TYPE
Sat. May 3 – 1:30 PM Exhibition Place & The Battle of York, 1813 Walk – available in French and English
Sun. May 4 – 1:30 PM Korea Town Walk- Asian Heritage Month
Wed. May 7 – 6:30 PM Chinatown: Then & Now  NEW Walk- Asian Heritage Month
Sat. May 10 – 1:30 PM Gerrard India Bazaar Walk- Asian Heritage Month
Sun May 11 – 1:30 PM St. James Town & the Filipino Community  NEW                   Walk- Asian Heritage Month
Wed. May 14 – 6:30 PM Chinatown: Then & Now   NEW Walk- Asian Heritage Month
Wed. May 21 – 6:30 PM Gerrard India Bazaar Walk- Asian Heritage Month
Sat. May 24 – 10:00 AM,10:30 AM, 2:00 PM & 2:30 PM Communing With the Spirits? Doubt and Belief in Toronto the Good NEW Walk – Doors Open
Sat. May 24 – 11:00 AM & 1:30 PM Layers of Leaside Walk – Doors Open
Sat. May 24 – 2:00 PM Mount Pleasant Cemetery: Where Soldiers Rest in Peace   NEW Walk – Doors Open
Sun May 25 – 10:00 AM,12:00 PM, 2:00 PM & 4:00 PM Guild Park: Where Art Meets Nature Walk – Doors Open
Sun. May 25 – 10:00 AM, 10:30 AM, 2:00 PM & 2:30 PM Communing With the Spirits? Doubt and Belief in Toronto the Good  NEW Walk – Doors Open
Sat. May 25 – 11:00 AM & 1:30 PM Layers of Leaside Walk – Doors Open
Sun. May 25 – 2:00 PM Mount Pleasant Cemetery: Where Soldiers Rest in Peace  NEW Walk – Doors Open
Wed. May 28 – 6:30 PM Korea Town Walk- Asian Heritage Month
Sat May 31 – 10:00 AM Chinatown: Then & Now    NEW Walk- Asian Heritage Month
Sat. May 31 at 10:00 AM St. James Town & the Filipino community  NEW Walk- Asian Heritage Month

JUNE

DATE & TIME TOUR TYPE
Sun. June 1 – 10:00 AM Nature in the City: Mud Creek & the Beltline Trail Walk
Sun. June 1 – 1:30 PM Agincourt Village Walk
Thurs. June 5 – 6:30 PM Music History on the Yonge Street Strip- CANCELLED Boutique Walk
Sat. June 7 -10:00 AM Portuguese Toronto    NEW Walk
Sun. June 8 – 1:30 PM Islington Village: An Art Walk through History   NEW Walk
Sun June 8 – 2:00 PM More Than an Island Bike Tour
Sat. June 14 – 10:00 AM Before Toronto: An Archaeological Bus Tour of Our City’s First 13,000 Years  NEW Bus Tour
Sat. June 14 – 10:30 AM North York Centre Then and Now Walk
Sat. June 14 – 1:30 PM Along the Boardwalk of Humber Bay Walk
Sun. June 15-11:00 AM The Mansions of Jarvis St.  Walk
Wed June 18- 6:30 PM The Yorkville Music Scene of the 1960s Boutique Walk
Fri. June 20-6:30 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk
Sat. June 21 -10:00 AM Journalists & Editors in 19th Century Toronto   Walk
Sat. June 21 -11:00 AM Dr. FitzGerald and the Connaught Laboratories: Medical Legacy Meets Family History Walk
Sat. June 21-1:30 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk- World Pride
Sun June 22 – 10:30 AM St. Clair West: The Growth of a Streetcar Suburb     Walk
Sun. June 22 – 1:30 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk- World Pride
Mon. June 23 – 6:30 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk- World Pride
Tues. June 24 – 6:30 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk- World Pride
Wed. June 25 – 6:30 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk- World Pride
Thurs. June 26 – 6:30 PMThurs. June 26 – 6:30 PM Kensington MarketPride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW WalkBoutique Walk- World Pride
Fri. June 27 – 2:00 PM Pride Walk: Discovering Toronto’s LGBTQ Heritage   NEW Boutique Walk- World Pride
Sat June 28 – 10:30 AM The Don Valley: Todmorden Mills to Lake Ontario BIKE tour    NEW Boutique Bike Tour

JULY

DATE & TIME TOUR TYPE
Thurs. July 3 – 6:30 PM Chinatown: Then & Now   NEW Boutique Walk
Sat.  July 5 – 1:30 PM The Town of York & the War of 1812 Walk
Sun. July 6 – 11:00 AM Extra! Extra! Making the News in Toronto  NEW Walk
Wed. July 9 – 6:30 PM A Sense of Spadina: Historic Jewish Toronto, w Cecil St. Plaque Walk
Thurs. July 10 – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Sat July 12 – 11:00 AM Immigration Stories: Making a Home in Old Toronto   NEW Walk, Suitable for people with English as a second language
Sat.  July 12 – 1:30 PM The Necropolis Walk
Sun. July 13 – 10:30 AM Getting Around Downtown in the Automobile Age Walk
Sun. July 13 -1:30 PM Beaconsfield Village Walk
Wed. July 16 -6:30 PM Music History on the Yonge Street Strip Boutique Walk
Thurs. July 17 – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Sat. July 19 – 10:30 AM Textile City: Living Fashion and Garment Production in Toronto Walk
Sat July 19 -1:30 PM Guild Park: Where Art Meets Nature Walk
Sun. July 20 -10:00 AM Watershed Wonders: The Forks of the Don  NEW Walk
Thurs. July 24 -6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk
Thurs. July 24 -7:00 PM Immigration Stories: Making a Home in Old Toronto   NEW Walk, suitable for learners of English as a second language
Fri. July 25 -7:00 PM Exhibition Place & The Battle of York, 1813 Walk – available in French and English
Sat. July 26 -10:30 AM Designing Toronto: A Playful Tour of Toronto’s Fashion District Boutique Children’s Walk
Sat. July 26 -1:30 PM South East Rosedale: Castle Frank to Glen Road Walk
Sun. July 27 -1:30 PM Thistletown Walk
Wed. July 30 – 6:30 PM The Yorkville Music Scene of the 1960s Boutique Walk
Thur. July 31 – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Boutique Walk

AUGUST

DATE & TIME TOUR TYPE
Sun. Aug.3 – 2:30 PM Chinatown: Then & Now    NEW

Boutique Walk

Thurs. Aug. 7 – 6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten StopsToronto

Boutique Walk

Sat. Aug. 9 -10:00 AM Music History on the Yonge Street Strip

Boutique Walk

Sat. Aug. 9 -1:30 PM Mount Pleasant Cemetery: Where Soldiers Rest in Peace  NEW

Walk

Sun. Aug. 10 -11:00 AM Immigration Stories: Making a Home in Old Toronto   NEW

Walk, suitable for learners of English as a second language

Sun. Aug. 10 -1:30 PM The Trees of Queen’s Park

Walk

Thurs. Aug. 14 -6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten Stops Toronto

Boutique Walk

Sat. Aug. 16 -1:30 PM Aggie’s Wildflowers

Walk

Sun. Aug 17 -10:30 AM Remaking Toronto:  Animals and Office Towers in the Downtown Core

Children’s Walk

Sun. Aug 17 -1:30 PM Town to Park: Avenue Road to Rosehill Reservoir

Walk

Thurs. Aug. 21 -6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten StopsToronto

Boutique Walk

Sat Aug 23 -10:00 AM The Boys of Harbord Collegiate & the Great War  NEW

Walk

Sat. Aug 23 -2:30 PM Designing Toronto: A Playful Tour of Toronto’s Fashion District                      

Children’s Boutique Walk

Sun. Aug. 24 -10:00 AM The Yorkville Music Scene of the 1960s

Boutique Walk

Sun Aug 24 -11:00 AM The Royal Alexandra Theatre & Its Neighbourhood 

Walk

Thurs. Aug. 28 -6:30 PM Creating Toronto: The Story of the City in Ten StopsToronto

Boutique Walk

 

SEPTEMBER

DATE & TIME TOUR TYPE
Sat. Sept. 6 – 1:30 PM Theatres in Old Toronto

Walk

Sun. Sept. 7 – 11:00 AM Neighbourhood Movie Theatres  NEW

Walk

Sun. Sept. 7 -1:30 PM Atop the Davenport Hill in the 1920s 

Walk

Sat. Sept. 13 -1:30 PM Historic Architecture in Eastern Weston

Walk

Sun. Sept. 14 – 11:00 AM Immigration Stories: Making a Home in Old Toronto   NEW

Walk, suitable for learners of English as a second language

Sun. Sept. 14 -1:30 PM Bloor/Gladstone Library Neighbourhood

Walk

Sat. Sept. 20 -10:00 AM The Town of York & the War of 1812

Walk

Sun. Sept. 21 -1:30 PM The Don Valley: Todmorden Mills to Lake Ontario   NEW

Boutique Bike

Sun. Sept. 21- 1:30 PM The Howards of High Park

Walk

Sat. Sept 27 -10:30 AM Edwards Garden & the Toronto Botanical Garden

Walk

Sat. Sept. 27 -1:30 PM Hidden Treasures in North Rosedale, following Chorley Pk plaq (1 PM)

Walk

Sun. Sept 28 -2:00 PM More Than an Island 

Boutique Bike

 

OCTOBER

DATE & TIME TOUR TYPE
Sat. Oct. 4 – 1:30 PM Hurricane Hazel Walk
Sun. Oct. 5 – 1:30 PM Milne Hollow  NEW Walk
Sun. Oct. 5 – 1:00 PM Surprising Suburbia: A Bus Tour of Northern Etobicoke Bus Tour
Thur Oct. 23 – 5:30 PM Immigration Stories: Making a Home in Old Toronto   NEW  Walk
Sat. Oct. 25 -2:00 PM Immigration Stories: Making a Home in Old Toronto   NEW Walk
Sun. Oct 26 – 2:00 PM Immigration Stories: Making a Home in Old Toronto   NEW Walk

tdfoot